Learn Quran Online

Book 3 days Free Trial classes


Your form submitted successfully!


Sorry! your form was not submitted properly, Please check the errors above.

Google reviews
Trustpilot reviews

The Five Pillars of Islam – Islamic Beliefs & Practices

Five Pillars Of Islam

Islam is a complete code of life. Embracing Islam, a Muslim is supposed to accept and perform five obligatory acts wholeheartedly, These five obligatory acts are called the five pillars of Islam. It means the building of Islam is supported by these five fundamental Pillars (acts). Discarding these acts, the faith of Muslims collapses. Pillars of Islam, including Shahada, Salat, Zakat, Fast, and Hajj. The importance of these five pillars of Islam has always been solid. Discarding, one of them means to abandon Islam.

Moreover, it is easy for every human being to understand Islam by realizing and understanding the importance of the pillars of success.

Get Your Free Trial

Can’t Drive Kids to the Mosque? Learn Quran Online At home on Skype.

Pillars of Islam

  • Shahada
  • Salat
  • Zakat
  • Fast
  • Hajj

First Pillar of Islam (Shahada)

To accept Islam, a person must recite Shahada. It consists of two parts. In the first part, the person willing to accept Islam declares that there is no god but Allah; in the second part, the person says that Muhammad is the apostle of Allah. Having made this declaration, the person turns to be Muslim. Hereafter, the four other acts of Islam become obligatory upon him to follow.

Second Pillar of Islam (Salat)

Having made the declaration above-mentioned, it is compulsory for a Muslim to offer prayer five times a day. In the Holy Quran, Allah Almighty has commanded the Muslims abundantly to offer prayer. No excuse is acceptable for discarding prayer (salat) except, for a person who loses his/her senses or for the women during menstruation or during some days when a woman has given birth to a baby.

Third Pillar of Islam (Zakat)

The importance of prayer and the paying of Zakat have been emphasized in the Quran side by side. Zakat is an obligatory act to be performed by a Muslim who keeps up to a certain amount of wealth in his possession for complete one year. The Zakat has to be spent on particular persons and places clearly defined in the Holy Quran.

Fourth Pillar of Islam (fast)

There are two types of fasts, voluntary fasts and obligatory fasts. The voluntary fasts can be observed all year round with regular intervals. The obligatory fasts are only observed in the month of Ramadan. (Ninth lunar month) Obligatory fasts have to be observed by every Muslim male and female except for some particular reasons mentioned in the Holy Quran. In the month of Ramadan, the Muslims recite the Holy Quran abundantly. Those who cannot recite The Quran can take online Quran classes. To maintain good relations with Allah Almighty, the persons who cannot read the Quran should pay attention to Quran learning.

Fifth Pillar (Hajj)

Hajj is the fifth pillar of Islam. It is an obligatory act upon a Muslim who can afford its expenses. Despite affording the expenses of Hajj, if a Muslim does not perform Hajj, that person facing a great loss.


It is compulsory for every Muslim male and female to believe in five pillars of Islam. To better understand their importance, Quran learning is also very essential.