Learn Quran Online

Book 3 days Free Trial classes


Your form submitted successfully!


Sorry! your form was not submitted properly, Please check the errors above.

Google reviews
Trustpilot reviews

Four Revealed Holy Books in Islam – Books of Allah

Four Revealed Holy Books in Islam – Books of Allah

Four Revealed Holy Books in Islam – Books of Allah

Belief in divine books is the third article of faith in Islam. Thus, a Muslim is required to believe in all the holy books of Allah. In Surah Al Baqarah, Allah states that those who believe in the Quran and the earlier revelations and have firm faith in the Afterlife are the rightly guided.

All the holy books were revealed as the uncreated word of Allah. Islam is ahead of the other Abrahamic faiths (Judaism and Christianity), with regard to its affirmation of Allah’s revelations. The Quran, in Surah Al Hadid, affirms the fact that Allah revealed divine books to His messengers to guide their people.

The Tawrat is the holy book which was revealed to Prophet Musa (AS). It was the scripture by virtue of which Musa (AS) and Haroon (AS) urged the Israelites to obey Allah. It was God’s message, an order to worship Him alone, and it contained guidance and principles for the people of Musa (AS).

As Muslims, we are not supposed to affirm the divine nature of any versions of the Tawrat that may be in existence today. Indeed, the Tawrat was corrupted by those who followed their whims and desires, seeking to reinvent its pure teachings.

This book can no longer be found in its original form as a result of tampering. Hence, Muslims are required to only believe in the truth and validity of the original, uncorrupted version of the Tawrat. By the same token, we are to reject all existing, corrupted editions of the Tawrat.

In Surah Al Ma’idah, Allah says that He sent the Tawrat, which contained guidance and light. The prophets judged according to it for the Jews. He says not to exchange His verses for a small price, for one who doesn’t judge according to His revelation is a disbeliever.

The Zabur is the holy book referred to as the book of Psalms in the Noble Quran. Zabur was revealed to Dawud (AS), so that he may invite his people to the right path. Muslims are to affirm that the Zabur, in its original form, was a revelation of Allah. On the other hand, any versions of it that exist currently shall not be endorsed or deemed divine in origin. This is because it, like the Tawrat, was altered and stripped of its initial authenticity.

The Injil is the holy book, also known as the Gospel. It was revealed to Prophet Isa (AS), a prophet born of a miraculous birth, who performed several miracles by Allah’s leave. Isa (AS) delivered the message of Allah to the children of Israel. In Surah Al Ma’idah, Allah mentions that He sent Isa (AS) with the Injil, confirming the Tawrat which preceded him. It contained guidance and light and confirmed what came before it of the Tawrat as guidance and instruction for the upright.

The Injil’s original version was lost as it was drastically modified with time, similarly to the aforementioned holy texts. Consequently, Muslims ought to believe in the originally revealed Injil and reject all distorted editions.

The Glorious Quran is Allah’s final revelation, revealed to Muhammad (PBUH), the Seal of the Prophets. It differs from the previous revelations in many ways, and Muslims are obliged to understand and believe in all these differences.

It was revealed in Arabic, but its teachings are incumbent on all humans, regardless of language and country. Following it alone is obligatory, as it is the final authority. It either overrules or affirms the laws within prior religious texts.

Moreover, it differs from the other revealed books in its preservation. While no other holy book’s pure nature has withstood the test of time, the Quran remains unchanged fourteen centuries after its arrival. The Quran is remarkably unique in many ways. Its miraculous nature ensures that no one can imitate it, to even a minute degree.

The Holy Quran is the final Word of Allah, and He vowed to shield it from corruption and distortion. It confirms the truth of the previous texts and abrogates them, establishing its esteemed status as the sole divine book whose laws must be adhered to.

In Surah Ash Shu’ara, Allah says that the Quran is revealed in clear Arabic to the Prophet (PBUH), to allow him to be among the warners. In Surah Al Ma’idah, Allah confirms that He has perfected our religion for us and authorized Islam as our faith. Furthermore, in Surah Al Hijr, Allah says that He Himself will safeguard the Quran

Frequently Asked Questions

How many holy books are there in Islam?

According to Islamic belief, Allah sent down four holy books. These are the books sent down to David (Dawud), Moses (Musa), Jesus (Isa), and Muhammad (PBUT). Believing in these holy books is one of the six articles of faith that is required for a Muslim to have a correct belief in Islam. Allah also mentions in the Quran about scrolls that He sent down to Prophet Abraham (Ibrahim) and Moses. There is an additional mention of scrolls sent to John (Yahya).

What are the four holy books of Islam?

One is the Zabur, also knowns as the Psalms, sent to David (Dawud). Another is the Torah sent to Moses (Musa). Then, we have the Injeel, also known as the Gospel, sent to Jesus (Isa). Lastly, there is the Quran sent to Prophet Muhammad (PBUH). Believing in these four holy books is a core belief in Islam. Rejecting them means that you reject an article of faith, which is one of the core beliefs of the religion.

What is the final Islamic holy book?

The last holy book that Allah revealed is the Quran, sent down to Prophet Muhammad (PBUH). The Quran is the word of Allah. It is a book of guidance for all Muslims and contains much beneficial information. It includes stories of past prophets and events, and also addressed events during the time of Muhammad (PBUH).
Additionally, it provides laws and injunctions that Muslims must adhere to. Allah clearly outlines that He created humans to worship Him alone. However, that doesn’t require us to prostrate in prayer all the time. Instead, we live lives, have families, work, etc., but according to Allah’s rules and by following his commands. Moreover, we must stay away from all forms of evil.


The three divinely revealed scriptures that preceded the Quran primarily contained stories of creation and previous nations, prophecies, etc. In addition, they brought legal rulings regarding permissible and impermissible matters. These scriptures were specifically revealed to the people of particular eras and locations. In time they were corrupted, though we can still affirm the unadulterated parts that agree with the Quran. Meanwhile, the Quran is aimed at all of mankind, overruling all the texts that were revealed before it. Therefore, it is legally binding on people of all races and tribes. Belief in the holy books helps us appreciate Allah’s Mercy, for He sent messengers bearing messages of truth to the various people inhabiting the Earth, giving them every chance to embrace the truth and attain His Pleasure